Semifinalists chosen in search for next Southern University System president-chancellor 

The search committee for the next president-chancellor of the Southern University System today announced semifinalists. 

The list includes:

  • Laurence Alexander, chancellor of the University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff
  • James Ammons, chancellor of Southern University at New Orleans
  • Walter Kimbrough, president of Dillard University in New Orleans
  • Dennis Shields, chancellor of the University of Wisconsin Platteville
  • Kent Smith, president of Langston University in Oklahoma


Michael Tidwell, former chancellor of the University of Texas at Tyler, was also named to this round during the search committee’s virtual meeting. He has since withdrawn his application.


The committee will interview the five semifinalists on Jan. 18 and Jan. 19.  

For more information on the president-chancellor search, go to


This website uses cookies to ensure site visitors get the best experience on our website. By continuing to use this site, you accept our use of cookies and Privacy Statement. To find out more, please visit Southern University's Privacy Statement.