Southern University and Agricultural and Mechanical College

Search!
Share Print Page Decrease Type Size Increase Type Size TEXT SIZE:

Nursing

The Graduate Nursing Program at Southern University in Baton Rouge (SUBR ) offers three academic degrees for interested students:  the Doctor of Philosophy degree (Ph.D) with a major in nursing, the Doctorate of Nursing Practice (DNP), and the Master of Science (MSN) with a specialty in family health nursing with role options as nurse administrator, nurse  educator, or advanced nurse practitioner.  Additionally, a post-masters certificate program (PMC) is available for registered nurses with a graduate degree in nursing interested in seeking academic preparation as an advanced nurse practitioner. 


Accreditation

The MSN program is accredited by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education. 
One Dupont Circle, NW, Suite 530   
Washington, DC 20036  
(202) 887-6791


Admission Requirements for SUBR Graduate Nursing Programs:  While admission requirements vary among the graduate nursing program options, all applicants are required to possess a current, unencumbered nursing license to practice and a minimum of 2 years of clinical experience as a registered nurse.    Interested applicants should access the link listed below to obtain additional information regarding admission requirements for the graduate nursing program option. 


Graduate Nursing Program Faculty and Staff
 


Interim Chair, Edna Hull, PhD, RN, CNE 
P.O. Box 11784 Baton Rouge, LA 70813 
School of Nursing Building-Room 107 
Office (225)  771- 5751 or (225) 771-2663; 
Fax (225) 771-3547 
 edna_hull@subr.edu  

Sharon Bator, PhD, RN, 
Office (225) 771- 3420   
sharon_bator@subr.edu  

Lewis Blair, Pharm D
Office (225) 771-2263
lewis_blair@subr.edu  

Sandra Brown, DNS, APRN, FNP-BC, CNE, ANEF
Office (225 )771-5145
sandra_brown@subr.edu  

Joan Ellis, PhD, RN, CNC, CNE   
Office (225) 771-2263
 joan_ellis@subr.edu  

Maybelle Jackson, DNP, FNP-BC  
Office (225) 771-2263  
maybelle_jackson@subr.edu  

Betty Fomby-White, Ph.D,  M.S.N., M.P.H, F, H.C.N, B.S.N., 
Office (225) 771- 2982
betty_fomby@subr.edu  

Vonda Gaitor , PhD, RN, FNP-BC 
Office (225) 771-2263 
vonda_stampley@subr.edu  

Jacqueline Hill, PhD, RN 
Office (225) 771- 2653  
jacqueline_hill@subr.edu  

Carolyn Lewis-Moore, EdD, FNP-BC
Office (225) 771-2263 
carolyn_moore@subr.edu  

Janet Rami, PhD, RN 
Office (225) 771 3266,
 
janet_rami@subr.edu  

Wanda Spurlock, DNS, RN-BC, CNE, FNGNA 
Office (225) 771-3404  
wanda_spurlock@subr.edu  

Cheryl Taylor, PhD, RN, FAAN 
Office (225) 771-3266 
cheryl_taylor@subr.edu

 

Diversity of Program Offerings

 

Utilization of Current Best Practices

You Belong Here


For further information contact:

Mail:
Southern University Graduate Nursing Programs
P. O. Box 11784
Baton Rouge, LA 70813
225-771-2663

or

In-person:
Southern University Graduate Nursing Programs
School of Nursing
J. K. Haynes Bldg., Room 112
170 Swan Ave.
Baton Rouge, LA