Dr. Diola Bagayoko receives $50,000 grant from Energy Department


Dr. Diola Bagayoko, the Southern University System Distinguished Professor of Physics, has received a $50,000 grant from the United States Department of Energy and the National Nuclear Security Administration. 


This funding is for a year-long continuation of a successful project that started last year.


The multifaceted research entails both state-of-the-art experimental and computational investigations aimed at greatly enhancing the performance of some current catalysts and discovering new ones.


Collaborating organizations include a team of Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs) and the Los Alamos National Laboratory (LANL). 


The other HBCUs include Morehouse College, Tennessee State University, Allen University, and Prairie View A&M University, the lead institution.


Tommy Rockward, an outstanding graduate of the BS and MS degree programs in physics at Southern University is the lead scientist for the collaboration with LANL.


The project serves as a mechanism for sustaining scientist-to-scientist interactions with DOE laboratories and for increasing the number of science and technology graduates.  Additionally, the project reaches out to the pre-college community.




This website uses cookies to ensure site visitors get the best experience on our website. By continuing to use this site, you accept our use of cookies and Privacy Statement. To find out more, please visit Southern University's Privacy Statement.

I agree