Southern University and Agricultural and Mechanical College

Share Print Page Decrease Type Size Increase Type Size TEXT SIZE:

Two SUBR Honors College scholars receive memorial scholarship award

The SU Alumni Federation recently presented the John A. Woods and Tyrell Mack Academic Scholarship Award to two SU Baton Rouge Honors College students. The scholarships were founded and funded by the Par 3 Golf Association Dallas Metroplex Chapter in memory of two SU alumni. Pictured (left – right) are Deadra Mackie, assistant professor, SUBR Honors College; Diola Bagayoko, dean, Honors College and director, the Timbuktu Academy and LS-LAMP, and SU System distinguished professor of physics; Jonalyn Fair, SUBR Honors College student; Joyner Deamer, SUBR Honors College student; and Valery Jones, administrative assistant IV, SU Honors College.


Southern University Baton Rouge (SUBR) Dolores Margaret Richard Spikes Honors College freshman Jonalyn Fair and Joyner Deamer were recently each awarded an academic scholarship founded and funded by the Par 3 Golf Association Dallas Metroplex Chapter.

The $550 awards, named in honor of SU alumni the late John A. Woods and the late Tyrell Mack, were presented through the Southern University Alumni Federation (SUAF) to SUBR students in STEM academic areas who have a 3.5 grade point average or above, and who show service leadership.

Fair, a math and physics major from Houma, is an Honors College Ambassador, and also tutors for the Applied Literacy and Learning Center.  A Carbondale, Illinois native, Deamer is a civil engineering major who is a member of the SUBR Honda Quiz Bowl Team, and an Honors College Ambassador.

The Par 3 Golf Association Dallas Metroplex Chapter has five members who are graduates of Southern University: Elmer "El" Corbin, Joseph "Joe" Gaddis, Thurston "T.J." Jones, Herman Manning, and Dave Thomas.  Johnny Stephens is the chapter's president.