Southern University and Agricultural and Mechanical College

Share Print Page Decrease Type Size Increase Type Size TEXT SIZE:

Department of Political Science

The Department of Political Science and Geography offers two degree program: Bachelor of Arts in Political Science and Master of Arts in Social Science - concentration in Political Science. The department seeks to promote critical thinking and develops technical proficiency in the area of politics, policy and government. The department seeks to stimulate the curiosity of students and to help them develop proficiency in the discipline of political science; to prepare students to understand major political, social, and economic developments in domestic and global perspectives; to acquaint students with the values associated with positive and effective leadership in various political systems; and to develop a framework for continuous personal and professional growth.

Political scientists study people, their values and their positions on issues, their preferences among candidates, their support of public officials and their appraisals of their governments. Therefore, a curriculum is offered that seeks to facilitate an understanding of the patterns of relationships that exist between the citizens and the polity.

Most of the departments' graduates pursue graduate or law school studies, start careers in state, local and federal governmental agencies and even become active in politics. The department will prepare its majors for these varied career goals through courses, workshops, seminars, state and federal legislative internships and international work and study opportunities.