Southern University and Agricultural and Mechanical College

Search!
Share Print Page Decrease Type Size Increase Type Size TEXT SIZE:

 

C-USA Support Services

Keys to Success Workshops

The Keys to Success Workshops are creative and interactive workshops that are designed to assist students with tools that will aid them in gaining a better understanding of course concepts such as reading comprehension, learning styles, critical thinking and much more. Strategies for an everyday college student are also presented in our life skills sessions. Come get creative with your learning and join us as we explore the many facets of the active college students.

Please contact Ms. Jasmine Mastin for more information at latrina_collins@subr.edu or 225-771-4312.

 Keys to Success Workshop Series

Fall 2017

Workshop Location:  118 Harris Hall Annex (Multipurpose Room)

NO PRE-REGISTRATION IS REQUIRED

 

This series is designed to offer students a low pain, great gain experience! In addition to receiving valuable information on selected topics, students will have the opportunity to ask questions that address their individual concerns about the subject. They will receive handouts and other helpful information to take with them for future reference.

 

SAP & ACADEMIC POLICIES                     

Monday, August 28, 2017 – 12:00 p.m.

Thursday, September 7, 2017 – 4:00 p.m.

Monday, October 2, 2017 – 12:00 p.m.

Tuesday, October 24, 2017 – 2:00 p.m.

Monday, November 20, 2017 – 12:00 p.m.

 

READING STRATEGIES 

Thursday, September 14, 2017 – 4:00 p.m.

Monday, September 25, 2017 – 12:00 p.m.

Wednesday, October 18, 2017 – 3:00 p.m.

Tuesday, November 14, 2017 – 2:00 p.m.

 

TIME MANAGEMENT

Tuesday, August 29, 2017 – 2:00 p.m.

Monday, September 18, 2017 – 12:00 p.m.

Thursday, October 5, 2017 – 4:00 p.m.

Friday, October 27, 2017 – 11:00 a.m.

 

LEARNING STYLES

Tuesday, September 5, 2017 – 2:00 p.m.

Friday, September 15, 2017 – 11:00 a.m.

Wednesday, October 25, 2017 – 3:00 p.m.

Monday, November 6, 2017 – 12:00 p.m.

 

NOTE TAKING SKILLS

Wednesday, September 6, 2017 – 3:00 p.m.

Thursday, September 28, 2017 – 4:00 p.m.

Wednesday, November 1, 2017 – 3:00 p.m.

Friday, November 17, 2017 – 11:00 a.m.

 

 

STUDY SKILLS

Friday, September 1, 2017 – 11:00 a.m.

Monday, September 11, 2017 – 12:00 p.m.

Wednesday, September 20, 2017 – 3:00 p.m.

Monday, October 30, 2017 -12:00 p.m.

Monday, November 13, 2017 – 12:00 p.m.

 

CONNECTING READING & LECTURE

Friday, September 22, 2017 – 11:00 a.m.

Friday, October 6, 2017 - 11:00 a.m.

Thursday, October 26, 2017 – 4:00 p.m.

Wednesday, November 8, 2017 – 3:00 p.m.

 

TEST TAKING SKILLS

Tuesday, September 12, 2017 – 2:00 p.m.

Monday, October 16, 2017 – 12:00 p.m.

Thursday, November 9, 2017 – 4:00 p.m.

Tuesday, November 28, 2017 – 2:00 p.m.

 

CRITICAL THINKING SKILLS

Tuesday, September 19, 2017 – 2:00 p.m.

Wednesday, October 4, 2017 – 3:00 p.m.

Tuesday, October 31, 2017 – 2:00 p.m.

Tuesday, November 7, 2017 – 2:00 p.m.

 

STRESS MANAGEMENT

Monday, October 9, 2017 – 12:00 p.m.

Friday, November 3, 2017 – 11:00 a.m.

Tuesday, November 21, 2017 – 2:00 p.m.

 

PROCRASTINATION & MOTIVATION

Thursday, August 31, 2017 – 4:00 p.m.

Tuesday, September 26, 2017 – 2:00 p.m.

Tuesday, October 10, 2017 – 2:00 p.m.

Monday, November 27, 2017 – 12:00 p.m.

 

FINAL EXAMINATION PREP

Wednesday, November 29, 2017 – 3:00 p.m.

All workshops are held in Harris Hall Annex, Room 118 (Multipurpose Room)

 

Tutoring Services

Located in 155 Stewart Hall

The Center for Undergraduate Student Achievement Tutor Center offers free and friendly academic tutoring to Southern University students seeking to improve or maintain their knowledge base in freshman and sophomore level Nursing, Math, Chemistry and Biology classes. Our center offers brand new computers, plenty of study space and assistance on hand Monday – Friday from 8:30 am to 5:30 pm. Our tutors pride themselves on being friendly, knowledgeable, and experienced. Come by for help in being a successful student.

Please contact Ms. Collins for more information at brittany_melancon@subr.edu or 225-771-2206.

Click here to download tutoring center flyer.