Alumna Dorothy Brown Cook inducted in National Black College Alumni Hall of Fame

Southern University alumna Dorothy Rabb Brown Cook today will be inducted into the National Black College Alumni Hall of Fame in the field of law. Each year, the organization honors alumni of Historically Black Colleges and Universities for their significant contributions made in their respective fields. This event promotes the viability of HBCUs and highlights the accomplishments of their alumni.


Cook was elected as the Clerk of the Circuit Court of Cook County, Illinois, in 2000, and was re-elected to four additional terms, making her the longest-serving person in that position, and the longest-serving Black person serving in a county-wide executive elected office in that county. She retired from elected office in November 2020. 


Cook cites the 1971 killings of Southern University classmates Leonard Brown and Denver Smith — amid peaceful student protests turned violent when armed law enforcement came to the campus — as a catalyst for her passion to make a difference in civil rights.


Cook graduated magna cum laude from Southern in 1975. She was number one in the College of Business and number four in her entire graduating class. In 1981, she received her Master in Business Administration degree with honors from DePaul University in Chicago. In 1996, she received her juris doctor degree with honors from Chicago-Kent College of Law.


Joining Cook for the 36th annual National Black College Alumni Hall of Fame induction are:



Gregory L. Lloyd Sr. – Fort Valley State University



Tyrone A. Burroughs – Benedict College


Civil Right:      

Melanie L. Campbell – Clark Atlanta University


Community Service:

Gerald K. Harris Sr. – Dillard University



Adena Williams Loston  — Alcorn State University



Rev. Dr. Kevin R. Murriel — Jackson State University



Retired Major General John F. Phillips — Jarvis Christian College



Alvin V. Blount, Jr. — North Carolina A&T University



Valerie L. Thomas — Morgan State University


Lifetime Achievement:          

Lorene K. Robinson — Delaware State University


Lifetime Achievement:            

Anne R. Gayles-Felton — Fort Valley State University


Lifetime Achievement:

Lauretta Hasty Holloway — North Carolina Central University


Chairman’s Award:

Alden J. McDonald  Jr. — Dillard University


The ceremony will be streamed live on the  National Black College Alumni Hall of Fame website and social media channels beginning at 5:30 p.m. CT.

This website uses cookies to ensure site visitors get the best experience on our website. By continuing to use this site, you accept our use of cookies and Privacy Statement. To find out more, please visit Southern University's Privacy Statement.