This website uses cookies to ensure site visitors get the best experience on our website. By continuing to use this site, you accept our use of cookies and Privacy Statement. To find out more, please visit Southern University's Privacy Statement.

I agree

Public Service Commissioner Lewis announces $1.26M in funding for Southern’s football stadium

During the June 23 meeting of the Southern University Board of Supervisors in New Orleans, Louisiana Public Service Commissioner Davante Lewis, District 3, announced a grant of $1,265,000 to Southern University A&M College to improve and update the energy infrastructure at its A.W. Mumford Stadium.

“We appreciate the partnership and support of Commissioner Lewis for the improvement of infrastructure needs at Southern University,” said Dennis J. Shields, president of the Southern University System and chancellor of Southern University and A&M College. “These funds will allow us to address efficiencies for our historic football facility.”

The funding for the upgrades is provided under the Louisiana Public Service Commission Statewide Energy Efficiency Program for Public Entities for Program Year 2023.

This funding will help to reduce the campus’ energy consumption, lower energy costs, improve public safety, enhance experiences, reduce carbon emissions, and promote sustainable practices.

“SU has demonstrated its dedication to academic excellence and commitment to environmental stewardship, making it an ideal recipient. This funding is a part of my ongoing commitment to promoting environmental sustainability and fostering educational opportunities for historically black colleges and universities (HBCUs) in Louisiana,” Lewis said. “By upgrading existing infrastructure, investing in energy-efficient technologies, and implementing conservation measures, will significantly enhance its operational efficiency while minimizing the environmental impact at Southern.”

Lewis represents the 3rd district of the Louisiana Public Service Commission (LPSC). The LPSC is a constitutionally created independent regulatory agency dedicated to serving the public interest by assuring safe, reliable, and reasonably priced services provided by public utilities and motor carriers. District 3 consists of 10 parishes: Ascension, Assumption, East Baton Rouge, Iberville, Jefferson, Orleans, St. Charles, St. James, St. John the Baptist and West Baton Rouge.