Faculty & Staff

Meet our Faculty & Staff  
PROFESSORS

Zhu Ning, PhD, Professor in Urban Forestry/Ecophysiology and Climate Change

Department Chair and Doctoral Degree Program Leader

Director, Research Institute for Air, Nutrient, Soil, Water, Ecosystem, and Remote Sensing (The ANSWERS Institute)

James and Ruth Smith Endowed Professor

Greenhouse/Headhouse Research Complex, Room 115A

Zhu_ning@subr.edu
Tel: 225-771-6292 - Office

Kamran Abdollahi, PhD, Professor in Urban Forestry/ Arboriculture, Global Change, and Bioenergy/Wood Waste Utilization

Program Leader, B.S. Degree Program

Greenhouse/Headhouse Research Complex, Room 116

Kamran_Abdollahi@subr.edu
Tel: 225-771- 6291 - Office

Yemane Ghebreiyessus, PhD, Professor in Urban Forestry/ Soil Sciences

Fisher Hall, Room 118B

Yemane_ghebreiyessus@subr.edu 
Tel: 225-771-3230 – Office

Yadong Qi, PhD, Professor in Urban Forestry/ Forest Ecology and Environmental Science

Master Degree Program Leader

Fisher Hall, Room 102E,

Yadong_qi@subr.edu
Tel: 225-771-3427- Office

ASSOCIATE PROFESSORS

Yaw Twumasi, PhD, Associate Professor in Urban Forestry/GIS and Remote Sensing

Admission, Scholarship, Assistantship and Stipend Committee Chair

Fisher Hall, Room 102C

Yaw_twumasi@subr.edu
Tel: 225-771-3008 - Office

ASSISTANT PROFESSORS

Christopher Chappell, PhD, Assistant Professor in Urban Forestry/Urban Forest Management

Recruitment and Student Life Committee Chair

Fisher Hall, Room102F

christopher_chappell@subr.edu
Tel: 225-771-6239 - Office

Veronica Manrique, PhD, Assistant Professor in Urban Forestry/Entomology and Pathology

Fisher Hall, Room 102D

veronica_manrique@subr.edu
Tel: 225-771-6224 - Office

ADJUNCT FACULTY

Vanessa Ferchaud, PhD, Faculty Instructor in Urban Forestry/Ecology and Tree Biology

Greenhouse/Headhouse Complex, Room 103

vanessa_ferchaud@suagcenter.com
Tel: 225-771-6282 - Office

STAFF

Joyce Peralta, Administrative Assistant III

Greenhouse/Headhouse Complex, Room 112

Fisher Hall, Room 102

joyce_peralta@subr.edu
Tel: 225-771-4528 - Office
Tel: 225-771-3535 - Office

USDA PARTNERS

Errol J Solomon, USDA-FS Liaison to SUBR Urban Forestry

Fisher Hall, Room 102B

esolomon@fs.fed.us
Tel: 337-441-0024 - Mobile

 

 

Beattra Wilson, MPA, National Program Manager, USDA-FS Liaison to SUBR Urban Forestry

Urban and Community Forestry, Forest Service

State & Private Forestry

201 14th Street, SW, Washington, DC 20250

beattra.wilson@usda.gov
Tel: 202-401-4070
Tel: 202-596-0955

This website uses cookies to ensure site visitors get the best experience on our website. By continuing to use this site, you accept our use of cookies and Privacy Statement. To find out more, please visit Southern University's Privacy Statement.