Advisors

 

Mechanical Engineerng

Academic and Career Advisors

Students are responsible for knowing their chosen curricula and for adhering to all published regulations of the University, College, and Mechanical Engineering (ME) Department. All ME students are assigned academic and career advisors based on the first letter of their last name when they are transfer into the College of Sciences and Engineering (see the table below). Academic and career advisors provide invaluable information and guidance to students about the program and career options.  They approve the student's schedule of classes through the Department's Registration Advisement Form and Table (RAFT) throughout the entire period of attendance at the University. All ME students are required to meet with their advisors at least once during a semester or term and prior to each registration period to discuss their progress. Prospective degree candidates must complete their Graduation Application with the consultation of their advisor at least two semesters before the final checkout for graduation.  Access to the Graduation Application link and the Intent to Graduate Form can also be found on the Undergraduate Program page.

Table of Academic and Career Advisors for Students in the Mechanical Engineering Program

First Letter of Student's Last Name

Academic and Career Advisor

Email or Phone

Office Location

A, B

Dr. Stephen Akwaboa

Stephen_Akwaboa@subr.edu

(225) 771-2709

Pinch 366

C

Dr. Stephen Akwaboa

Dr. Dwayne Jerro

Stephen_Akwaboa@subr.edu

(225) 771-2709 or 771-3580

Pinch 366

Pinch 334

D

Dr. Amitava Jana

Dr. Fareed Dawan

Amitava_Jana@subr.edu

(225) 771-5792 or 771-2207

Pinch 345

Pinch 351

E, F, G

Dr. Amitava Jana

Amitava_Jana@subr.edu

(225) 771-5792

Pinch 345

H, I, J, K

Dr. Edgar Blevins

Edgar_Blevins@subr.edu

(225) 771-4736

Pinch 359

L, M, N, O, P

Dr. Brian Warren

Brian_Warren@subr.edu

(865) 368-7913

Pinch 353

Q, R, S

Dr. Dwayne Jerro

Dwayne_Jerro@subr.edu

(225) 771-3580

Pinch 334

T, U, V, W, X, Y, Z

Dr. Fareed Dawan

Fareed_Dawan@subr.edu

(225) 771-2207

Pinch 351

All Transfer Students

Dr. Dwayne Jerro

Dwayne_Jerro@subr.edu

(225) 771-3580

Pinch 334

Graduating Senior Final Check Out

Dr. Dwayne Jerro

Dwayne_Jerro@subr.edu

(225) 771-3580

Pinch 334

University College Academic Advisior for All Incoming Freshman with

0 to 30 Credit Hours

Ms. Robyn Williams

Robyn.Williams@sus.edu

(225) 771-5399

Stewart Hall Room 309

 

This website uses cookies to ensure site visitors get the best experience on our website. By continuing to use this site, you accept our use of cookies and Privacy Statement. To find out more, please visit Southern University's Privacy Statement.